Bible, Christian, Church, Conservative, Friendship, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Love, Submission

God’s Global Positioning Spirit (GPS) II

Acts 17:26-27 (NKJV): And He has made from one blood every nation of men to dwell on all the face of the earth, and has determined their preappointed times and the boundaries of their dwellings, so that they should seek the Lord, in the hope that they might grope for Him and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us;

Jeremiah 29:11-14 (NKJV): For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the LORD, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the LORD, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.

Psalm 37:23 (NKJV): The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD, And He delights in his way.

I was 25 years old, had made what became the last New Year’s resolutions I’d ever make (one of which was to improve myself), the chances of my having career I hoped to have were bleak, I was living in a city that I didn’t like and I was miserable! Though I had enough knowledge of God to pray and ask His blessings on my plans, the door didn’t open. What was I going to do? Sadly, I wallowed in self-pity for several months until one day I received a phone call from a dear friend. This friend has the gift of prophecy and she began relaying to me a vision the Lord gave her that shook her enough to run back to a relationship with Him. The vision she shared so shook me that I began looking for a church, not realizing that I was searching for and would find much more than a place to attend every Sunday! Some of the members at the church I was lead to took the time to study the Bible with me as well as teach me how to study the Bible. Through them and His Spirit, God began drawing me to a relationship with Him. Amazingly, I began understanding the Bible that had seemed to be in a foreign language to me before. Worship service attendance became a joy, not a chore; prayer became a desire, not an obligation; and, reading the Bible became an adventure not toil! All because I was in the right place and the right time to receive the message of the Gospel. It is only by God’s GPS that I was where I was to receive the covenant relationship with Him. Though I had a great dislike for the city in which I lived, I now realize that the Lord had me there so that I would seek and find Him.

Not long after I received salvation in Christ Jesus, I was heading home early from work one day, thinking about all I would do once I was home when the Holy Spirit told me to go to the home of a specific sister in Christ. I thought the direction was strange but obeyed. An amazing thing happened when I arrived. She and I sat and talked for a while during which I told her that the Lord told me to come see her, she then shared how she really needed to go to the store at that time and had prayed for a way to get there! We rejoiced in the Lord’s provision for her so quickly through me. It may seem like a minor thing but it wasn’t to that sister who really needed to go to the store nor was it to me, who was young in the faith. Through the years, I’ve often been led by the Holy Spirit to go, do or say things that may seem strange to me at the time but the Lord usually makes the reasoning behind them clear once I obeyed. Last October marked 14 years since I committed my life to the Lord and I still wonder at His leading me by His Spirit to be a blessing to others even when what He leads me to do may not make any sense to me at the time.

Three years after I was saved, the Lord “brought me back from the place which He caused me to be carried away captive” (that sums up my sentiment towards Columbia, SC) to the place that I loved and have so much more appreciation for after being away from it for 4 years. Once I arrived, He led me to become a member of a church that He used to mature me more in my relationship with Him and in His Word. There He opened many doors for me to serve and be a blessing to others in His kingdom as well as those not in His kingdom yet. After serving there for 11 years, He led me to a church where I know He will lead me to be a blessing because only in a few months there, my husband and I have been greatly blessed by it’s members and He truly does bless us to be a blessing.

There are many instances where I can look back and see that God’s GPS was ordering my steps and it makes me even more grateful for the relationship with Him because without Him, I was perishing. God’s GPS is a lot like the Global Positioning Systems that many use today in that something on the Earth connects through the air with something above for directions. The biggest difference is that the Lord determines the destination, we don’t, our responsibility is to tap into His directions as given by His Spirit and Word.

Lost? Not sure which direction to take in life? Access God’s GPS for the best, accurate directions!

2 thoughts on “God’s Global Positioning Spirit (GPS) II”

  1. How I remember times when He’s truly lead my steps. My time in Asheville when a gust of wind and a broken umbrella lead me to a good job. God is truly amazing!! Great word honey!! Keep up the good work!

Please share your thoughts on this.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.